Individual memberships

What is the International Solar Energy Society, ISES?

ISES, a non-profit UN-accredited membership NGO founded in 1954, has a long history of being the trusted global advisor on renewable energy and this remains its core value.
ISES works to achieve 100% renewable energy for all, used efficiently and wisely.

What are the benefits of becoming an ISES Member?

With your ISES membership...
You join a global organization whose members are advancing scientific breakthroughs and strategies needed for a rapid transition to a 100% renewable energy future.
You will have access to regular news reports and other publications on progress in renewable energy developments worldwide.

You will be eligible for a discounted subscription to the world-renowned peer-reviewed Solar Energy Journal, the leading scientific journal on solar energy.
You will have many opportunities to engage with businesses, professionals, and decision makers through international congresses, regional conferences, ongoing policy and educational programs, and other networking events.

How much does an ISES individual membership cost?

Membership category  Annual rate  Annual rate*

Student 22 Euro 11 Euro
Professional 45 Euro 23 Euro
Professional silver 200 Euro 100 Euro
Professional gold 1,000 Euro 500 Euro

Annual rate * = annual rate for people residing in lower-income countries

How can I become an ISES Member?

To purchase an individual membership:

You may purchase an ISES Membership directly here:


You are subscribed to our mailing list, and thus you already have an account in our membership system. In this case, please:

Please update your contact details and preferences by clicking on Edit in the menu. This is important to determine the correct membership category.


You are not subscribed and would like to join through our mailing list! Then, please, enter your e-mail address and name in the subscription form in the footer of this website.

Members Area

Once your account is set up, you will have access to the Members Area of the ISES website.

Corporate Members

If you are interested in becoming an ISES Corporate Member, contact us at members [at] and we will guide you through the application process.

You may also purchase an ISES Corporate Membership directly here:

Further questions?
Please feel free to get in touch with our membership team at the ISES headquarters in Freiburg, Germany. Contact us via email; members [at] or phone: +49 761 45906 52. We are happy to provide you with further information and to answer your questions.

Already an ISES Member? We may have two differing e-mail addresses in our system for you. Please contact us at members [at] to resolve this issue.

Membership services

Gold Members

ISES Gold Members are lifetime Members of the International Solar Energy Society, never needing to renew their memberships. Gold Memberships strengthen the Society's financial stability, enabling ISES staff and Members to continue to work to achieve the ISES vision of 100% renewable energy for all, used wisely and efficiently. In addition to the benefits available for all individual members, Gold members receive an extra 10 % discount on all additional services. As a Gold Member you will receive special recognition for your support in the Member Directory, newsletter and on the ISES website. A Gold Membership costs 1000 € (500 € for people residing in lower income countries). To purchase a Gold Membership, log in to your ISES account and click on "Buy Membership" and Select Gold, or create a new ISES account here:

Please note that there are additional Gold Member, who have chosen to remain annonymous. If you are a Gold Member and would like to be listed here, please contact members [at]

The International Solar Energy Society, ISES,  is honoured to present the following distinguished Gold Members (lifetime Members):

Mr. Stefan Larsson-Mastonstråle, Sweden

Mr. Douglas Danley, United States

Mr. Jiao Qingtai, China

Prof. Frédéric Kuznik, France

Prof. José Domingos Vitória Fernandes, Portugal

Dr. Jan Amaru Palomino Töfflinger, Peru

Mr. Stefan Abrecht, Germany

Dr. Frederick Morse, United States

Mr. Rabindra Kumar Satpathy, India

Prof. William Beckman, United States

Prof. Ricardo Rüther, Brazil

Dr. David S. Renné, United States

Mr. Timothy Maroney, United States

Mr. Robert Foster, United States

Mr. Kuppuswamy Kothandaraman, India

Dr. Thomas Louis, Switzerland

Prof. Aldo Steinfeld, Switzerland

Dr. Olga Shepovalova, Russian Federation

Prof. Klaus Vajen, Germany

Mr. Wolfgang Rosenthal ,Germany

Dr. Ian Maclaine-Cross, Australia

Christian Selene Coria Monroy, Mexico

Mr. Adeolu Olatunde Olusegun, Nigeria

Dr. Hyeongdong Park, Korea, Republic of

Mr. Rainer Hinrichs-Rahlwes, Germany

Dr. Manoj Soni, India

Dr. Gasser Elhussien Hassan, Egypt

Dr. Sebastian Groh, Bangladesh

Dr. Jan Amaru Palomino Töfflinger, Peru